Latest articles

Manitoba Beef Producers elects a new president

Newsmakers from the March 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Ben Fox of Dauphin is the new president of the Manitoba Beef Producers. Joining him on the executive are first vice-president Ramona Blyth from MacGregor, second vice-president Tom Teichroeb of Langruth and treasurer Peter Penner from Winkler. Dianne Riding of Lake Francis replaces Fox as board secretary.     Ryan Beierbach of Whitewood returns as […] Read more

Canadian Beef Centre of Excellence director to retire

Newsmakers from the February 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Marty Carpenter, the director of the Canadian Beef Centre of Excellence at Canada Beef in Calgary is set to retire March 1. He received his Certified Chefs de Cuisine designation in 1991 but for the past 23 years his career has focused totally on marketing Canadian beef with the Alberta Beef Producers, the Beef Information […] Read more

B.C. ranch officially named a Century Farm

Newsmakers from the January 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Nanton rancher/feeder Bob Lowe was re-elected to a second term as chair of the Alberta Beef Producers at the association’s annual meeting in Calgary last month. Rejoining him on the executive is vice-chair Roland Cailliau of Valleyview. New to executive is finance chair Kelly Smith-Fraser of Red Deer County. Mayerthorpe, Alta. rancher Tom Thompson of […] Read more

Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame inductees in 2017

Newsmakers from the December 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Cattlemen Tim Oleksyn and George Cooper, and grain producer Art Mainil will be inducted into the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame in 2017. Tim Oleksyn, a rancher and farmer from Shellbrook, has been a supporter of beef research for decades. He has been a board member and chair of the Western Beef Development Centre and […] Read more

Cattle community members inducted into Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame

Newsmakers from the November 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Three well-known members of the cattle community were inducted into the Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame last month. They are: Cor Van Raay of Iron Springs helped mould Alberta’s modern feedlot sector. Starting with just 50 head of cattle, his business grew to be one of the largest feedlot operations in Canada. He also helped […] Read more

Calgary Stampede voted the 2016 Stock Contractor of the Year

Newsmakers from the October 24, 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

One of the biggest surprise announcements of last month was the unexpected resignation of Canada Beef president Rob Meijer on September 16. A press release from the Canadian Beef Cattle Research, Market Development and Promotion Agency said Meijer has resigned to spend more time with his two daughters and his wife. He joined Canada Beef […] Read more

Researchers chosen for Beef Researcher Mentorship program

Newsmakers from the October 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

The Beef Cattle Research Council (BCRC) has selected four bovine researchers for its 2016-17 Beef Researcher Mentorship program that puts young researchers in touch with producers and industry representatives to introduce them to the wider Canadian beef industry. They are: Dr. Getahun Legesse, a research associate at the University of Manitoba who is part of […] Read more

McAllister receives Beef Industry Award for Outstanding Research and Innovation

Newsmakers from the September 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Dr. Tim McAllister, principal research scientist with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in Lethbridge, received the 2016 Canadian Beef Industry Award for Outstanding Research and Innovation at the inaugural Canadian Beef Industry Conference last month. He also holds adjunct appointments at six universities in Canada, and universities in China and Ghana. His research interests include the […] Read more

TESA award for environmental stew­ard­ship awarded

Newsmakers from the August 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Miles Anderson walked away from the Sask­atchewan Stock Growers annual convention with two mem­­­­or­able souvenirs, the provincial environmental stew­ard­ship award (TESA) won by him and his wife Sheri and an autographed copy of Dr. Temple Grandin’s book, Humane Animal Handling, auctioned off during the annual fundraiser. The TESA award recognizes the efforts Miles and Sheri and their family put into managing their native […] Read more

Manitoba gets a new agriculture minister

Newsmakers from the June 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Ralph Eichler was sworn in last month as Manitoba’s new agriculture minister. A one-time cattle producer who raised purebred Simmentals and a commercial herd, he also owned Prairie Farm and Ranch Supply, a livestock-handling equipment manufacturer and dealership and a Teulon auction company Ray’s Auction Service. He served as the administrator of the Interlake School […] Read more