Haywood-Farmer acclaimed CCA president

NewsMakers from the May 2018 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

David Haywood-Farmer. photo: Supplied

At the March annual meeting of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association in Ottawa David Haywood-Farmer of British Columbia was acclaimed president replacing Dan Darling from Ontario. Nanton, Alta.




Bob Lowe. photo: Supplied

Cow-calf and feedlot operator Bob Lowe was elected vice-president of the national cattle organization, and next in line for the top job. Lowe served as chair of Alberta Beef Producers from 2015 to 2017 and was first elected as a director to the CCA in 2009. The CCA also welcomed newly elected executive members Doug Sawyer and Cathy Sharp from Alberta, Pat Hayes from Saskatchewan and Ramona Blyth from Manitoba.

Roger Peters. photo: File

Roger Peters of Peterosa Exports in Red Deer, Alta., is the new president of the Canadian Beef Breeds Coun­cil replacing Garner Deobald of Hawkeye Land and Livestock Ltd. in Hodgeville, Sask. Hereford breeder and professor of molecular genetics at the University of Calgary, Jay Cross is vice-president. Myles Immerkar of Semex Alliance is a new director on the board.

Luke Simpson (l), Dr. Edouard Timsit, Christie Simpson, and John Simpson.
 photo: Supplied

Dr. Edouard Timsit, an assistant professor of cattle health at the University of Calgary faculty of veterinary medicine, is the inaugural winner of the Simpson Ranch Chair in Beef Health and Wellness. Timsit has already established an internationally recognized research program on bovine respiratory disease, and with chair funding will lead research efforts into other core health issues such as antimicrobial resistance, surveillance and control of production-limiting and zoonotic diseases, reproduction, lameness and beef quality and safety.

The chair is funded by Simpson Ranching Ltd., a 1,000-cow Hereford operation at Cochrane run by John Simpson and his children, Christie and Luke. The family maintains a strict herd health protocol for each animal backed by a bank of digitized records on health treatments, weaning weights on dams and offspring dating back to 1986. John Simpson says he started trying to create this beef health and wellness chair 10 years ago.

Tessa Verbeek. photo: File

The Canadian Limousin Association has declined to renew its contract with Today’s Publishing for the breed magazine Limousin Voice. 5 Gallon Creative has been contracted to produce the magazine starting with the October 2018 issue and association general manager Tessa Verbeek will co-ordinate advertising sales.



Bruce Holmquist. photo: Supplied

Bruce Holmquist of Kinistino, Sask., was re-elected president of Canadian Western Agribition (CWA) last month at the volunteer board of directors annual meeting. Holmquist, who is the current general manager of the Canadian Simmental Association, joined the volunteer CWA board in 2007 and became an executive member in 2012.

Chris Lees. photo: Supplied

Chris Lees of Arcola, Sask., was elected vice-president. The remaining members of the executive are: Kim Hextall, Grenfell, Sask.; Levi Jackson, Sedley, Sask.; and Curtis Kuchinka of Regina.

Harvey Graham of Durham Region and William Harvey Beaty of Thamesford will be inducted into the Ontario Agricultural Hall of Fame at a ceremony June 10 in Milton. Graham is a past president of the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association (now Beef Farmers of Ontario) and director of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association. He helped establish the Ontario Feeder Cattle Loan Guarantee Program, the Environmental Stewardship Award and the national beef check-off program.

William Beaty, who died in 1994, was the founder and chairman of Cold Springs Farm Ltd., a business that included 60 farms and 9,000 acres raising hogs, turkeys, chickens, beef cattle and crops.

Charles Williams. photo: File

Last month many in agriculture were honouring the memory and accomplishments of Charles “Red” Williams who died at the end of March. He was 93. Williams headed the University of Saskatchewan’s animal and poultry science department from 1975 to 1983 and was a regular speaker at farmer meetings and conferences. He also produced newspaper columns and daily radio segments under the title “Food for Thought.” Williams was inducted into the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame in 1986. More on Williams can be found in John McKinnon’s “Nutrition” column in our May 2018 issue.

Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association representative Mark Elford has been re-elected as chair of the Canadian Cattle Identification Agency board of directors. Pat Hayes representing the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA) remains vice-chair while Howard Bekkerin of the Alberta Beef Producers is the finance and audit committee chair. Lyle Miller of the Alberta Cattle Feeders’ Association and Doug Sawyer of the CCA are the other two executive members.

Canada’s TMX Group pulled the plug on the AgriClear online cattle exchange April 16 after almost three years of operation. TMX, which operates the Toronto-based TSX stock exchange among other services, in partnership with its then-subsidiary, energy trading operation NGX, launched AgriClear in mid-2015, billing it as “North America’s premier online cattle transaction and payment platform,” dealing in physical cattle sales rather than cattle futures. Buyers and sellers in Canada and the U.S. were meant to use the clearing system to post and view videos of live cattle, negotiate terms, close deals and arrange delivery via their mobile devices, for a charge of $6 per head to the buyer and seller per transaction.

We were saddened to learn of the passing of James Lore of Carstairs, Alta., in December. He was president of the Canadian Limousin Association in 1977 and formed an environmental consulting firm in 1984. cDavid Haywood-FarmerBob LoweRoger PetersJay CrossLuke Simpson (l), Dr. Edouard Timsit, Christie Simpson, and John Simpson.

About the author



Stories from our other publications