Your Reading List

Newsmakers – for Dec. 12, 2011

Ray Armbrusterof Rossburn was elected president of the Manitoba Beef Producers at the association s annual meeting in Brandon last month. He replacesMajor Jay Fox,who was one of four retiring directors that had reached the limit of three consecutive two-year terms. Fox moves to past-president on the executive along with vice-president Mac McRae,treasurerTheresa Zukand secretaryTrevor Atchison.New directors joining the board this year are:Dave Koslowsky, Heinz Reimer, Ramona Blyth, Bill MurrayandStan Foster.Reelected to the board for another term areTrevor Atchison, Glen Campbelland Theresa Zukwhere they join returning directorsTed Artz, Brad McDonald, Ray Armbruster, Mac McRae, Caron Clarke andKim Crandall.

Alberta Beef Producers recently elected a new slate of delegates that met early this month to vote on policy stands for Canada s largest beef organization. The new slate includes: Zone 1 Howard Bekkering,Vauxhall;Mark Francis,Taber;James Hargrave,Walsh; Brad Calvert,Brooks;Rick Friesen, Vauxhall. Zone 2 Bob Lowe,Nanton; Cecilie Fleming,Granum;Brent Carey,Stavely;John Schooten,Diamond City;Darren Bevans,Raymond; Allan Minchau,Spring Coulee. Zone 3 Chuck Groeneveld,Okotoks;John S. Bland,Strathmore,John Buckley, Cochrane;Brian Edge,Cochrane;Gordy Cunningham,Sundre;Bryan Thiessen, Strathmore. Zone 4 Pat Rutledge, Monitor;Daniel Gray,Big Stone;Craig Ference,Kirriemuir;Judy Fenton,Irma; John Beasley,Youngstown;Tim Smith, Coronation. Zone 5 Doug Sawyer, Pine Lake;Rose Wymenga,Leslieville; Nanita Blomquist,Big Valley;Cathy Sharp,Lacombe;Charles Christie,Trochu; Arny Tateson,Endiang. Zone 6 Shauna Harakal,Warburg;Adam Moseson,Ferintosh;Tim Sekura,Rocky Rapids;Chris Simpson,Rimbey;Greg Bowie,Ponoka;Dave Solverson,Camrose. Zone 7 Colin Campbell,Bon Accord;Gene Brown,Sangudo;Rick McKnight,Jarvie;Kelly Olson,Athabasca; Ted Ford,Fawcett. Zone 8 Brian Chomlak,Beauvalion;Gordon Graves,Iron River;Bill Fox,Elk Point; Edward Doktor,Vilna;Lyndon Mansell, Innisfree;Sheldon Hauca,Vegreville. Zone 9 Roland Cailliau,Valleyview; Lori Kinnee,Brownvale;Maartin Braat, Fort Vermilion;Bruce Jack,Spirit River.

Three new district representatives will be installed on the board of the Saskatchewan Cattlemen s Association (SCA) at its AGM to be held during the Saskatchewan Beef Industry Conference in January. During fall district meetingsRyan Beierbach of Whitewood andMark Elford of McCord were elected to the board, whileMichael Sprattof Melfort got in by acclamation. Returning uncontested areRick Toneyof Gull Lake,Howard Toewsof Watrous andDavid Stuartof Edam. The 2012 board will elect a new chair and vice-chair to take over fromJack Hextallof Grenfell and vice-chairBruce Holmquist of Kinistino, both of whom declined to let their names stand again. Both men were heavily involved in the formation of the SCA.Hextall,who has been at the helm for nearly three and a half years, says it s important to have new, younger people involved with the organization and the industry. He looks forward to mentoring them in his position as past-chair on the 2012 board.

A new online database provides details on nearly 2,000 livestock vaccines. It was assembled by Inocul8 and the Global Alliance for Livestock Veterinary Medicines in Edinburgh and is found on the web at

Canada s first full DNA lab for livestock opened in Edmonton in late October. The Delta Genomics Centre DNA lab offers biobanking, genotyping and next generation sequencing combined with contract research services. It is a not-for- profit spinoff company of Livestock Gentec (see our October 2011 issue) that will operate under the umbrella of the University of Alberta for two or three years until it can become established. For details call the lab at 780-492-2538.



Stories from our other publications