Newsmakers – for May. 3, 2010

The Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA)’s board of directors elected Travis Toews of Beaverlodge, Alta., as their new president and Martin Unrau from MacGregor,

Man., as vice-president at the group’s annual meeting in Ottawa. Brad Wildeman from Lanigan, Sask., remains on the executive as past president. Newly elected to the board of directors are Larry Delver and Brian Edge from Alberta, Bill Herron from Ontario and George Smith from Nova Scotia.

Producer Darcy Eddleston from Paradise Valley, Alta., has been elected chairman of the board of directors of the Canadian Cattle Identification Agency (CCIA). He replaces exporter Steve Primrose who remains on the board as past chairman. Eddleston represents the Alberta Beef Producers on the board and has been a director of that organization for the past three years. He is a fourth-generation farmer and chairman of the board of trustees of Buffalo Trail Public Schools. He is joined on the executive of the CCIA by: past chairman Steve Primrose; vice-chairman, Rick Wright; finance chairman, Terry Kremeniuk and directors at large, Dan Darling and Dr. Pat Burrage. New to the CCIA board this year are: Jamie Whalen from Atlantic Canada, Martin Rossmann from the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association, Theresa Zuk representing the Manitoba Cattle Producers Association, and Glenn Olexson and Dave Kasko from the Canadian Meat Council.

The Saskatchewan Cattlemen’s Association has hired Adrian Uzea as their policy analyst. Uzea was born and raised on a dairy farm in Romania. He received his bachelor of agrifood economics from the Academy of Economic Studies in Bucharest, Romania and his master of science in agricultural economics from the University of Saskatchewan.

CanFax has finally found a new manager with the appointment of Brian Perillat as their new senior analyst/manager last month. Perillat has a master degree in agricultural economics from the University of Saskatchewan and has been working as a livestock production economist with Alberta Agriculture and more recently as a farm management consultant with Meyers Norris Penny. He was raised on a mixed farm in Saskatchewan. He replaces Rob Leslie who left CanFax last May to accept a job with Intervet Schering-Plough.

Susan Church and Pam Miller received Awards of Distinction at the recent Livestock Care Conference in Red Deer organized by Alberta Farm Animal Care (AFAC). Church was the manager of AFAC for 15 years before retiring last year. Miller has been the voice of the 24-hour ALERT Line set up by AFAC to take confidential calls from anyone wishing to report concerns about the care of livestock in Alberta.

Ed Shaw is the first chairman of newly formed Canadian Forage and Grassland Association, a national organization set up to promote the use of forages and provide a national voice for the industry. Shaw owns International Quality Forage, a Calgary-based hay-exporting business. Vice-chairman Ray Robertson is manager of the Ontario Forage Council. Other executive members include: Janice Bruynooghe of the Saskatchewan Forage Council; Doug Wray of Alberta Forage Industry Network and Michel Tremblay, Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture. The organization will be run out of the Brandon, Man., offices of Wayne Digby, executive director of the Manitoba Forage Council and the national association.

On April 12 the board of directors of the Canadian Beef Breeds Council dismissed their longtime executive vice-president Herb McLane. In a note to the trade CBBC president Allan Marshall of Innisfail, Alta., said a replacement would be introduced to the industry soon. The council supports and promotes the Canadian purebred beef cattle sector and represents them on issues of common interest. McLane is a past president of Canadian Western Agribition, a member of Agriculture Canada’s Beef Value Chain Roundtable and the 2008 recipient of the Carl Block Award for his commitment to the livestock industry.



Stories from our other publications