Canada Beef welcomes a new executive vice-president

NewsMakers from the June 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Francis Andres. photo: Supplied

Francis Andres is the new executive vice-president of Canada Beef. Working with the board of directors he will lead all aspects of the organization’s domestic and international market development and promotion efforts and as the senior officer will essentially replace former president Rob Meijer who resigned unexpectedly last September. Andres’ background is in global branding of food and agricultural products in North America, Asia Pacific, Europe, the Middle East and North African.

Fawn Jackson. photo: Supplied

Fawn Jackson, the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association manager of environment and sustainability has been appointed to a federal species at risk advisory committee set up by Environment and Climate Change Canada.

The committee is comprised of a group of experts from a number of stakeholder groups that was set up to provide advice on how to improve the implementation of the Species at Risk Act.

Rancher Miles Anderson of Fir Mountain is another committee member representing the Sask­atchewan Stock Growers Association.

Alyssa Henderson. photo: Supplied

Alyssa Henderson from Bashaw is the 2017 recipient of the 4-H Alberta Premier’s Award. She has been a member of the Central Lacombe 4-H Beef Club for seven years and as the Premier’s Award winner she, along with 14 new 4-H ambassadors, will spend the next year representing 4-H Alberta across the province.

Members of the British Columbia Cattlemen’s Association elected new directors from four zones through a mail-in ballot last month just in time for the association’s annual meeting in late May. Renee Ardill of Fort St. John and Judy Madden of Dawson Creek will represent B.C. Peace River; Jon Solecki of Francois Lake will represent Skeena; John Anderson of Merritt and Leroy Peters of Heffley Creek were elected in Thompson and Brian McKersie from Canal Flats and Larry Rast of Creston will represent the Kootenay region.

The remaining members of the board facing election in 2018 are: Erin Durrell and Larry Garrett from Central; Duncan Barnett and Grant Huffman from the Cariboo; and Linda Allison and Doug Fossen from the Okanagan.

McKersie is the current president of the BCCA and Garrett is vice-president.

Alison Blair of Blair Land & Cattle Company in Pine Lake, Alta., won the first place trip package to Lexington, Kentucky, for ONE: The Alltech Ideas Conference for her “My Farm. My Future.” video. Blair farms with her husband Aaron, and their three sons, Tyson, Corbin and Griffin.

Rob Bergevin. photo: Supplied

The Livestock Markets Association of Canada elected Rob Bergevin of Foothills Auctioneers Inc. at Stavely, Alta., as president at its May AGM in Lethbridge, Alta. Scott Anderson of Winnipeg Livestock Sales, moves to past president; Heartland order buyer Rick Wright of Virden, Man., stays on as executive administrator; and the new vice-president will be decided at the board’s first meeting. Craig Jacklin of VJV Ponoka, Alta., joins the board alongside Larry Witzel, Ontario Livestock Exchange, Waterloo, Ont.; Brock Taylor, Taylor Auctions, Melita, Man.; Jim Abel, Stettler Auction Mart, Alta.; Peter Raffan, Mountain Markets Association, Armstrong, B.C.; Bryan Daynard, Calgary Stockyards, Alta.; and Rhett Parks, Whitewood Livestock, Whitewood, Sask.

Don Guilford of Clearwater is the new chairman of the Manitoba Beef and Forage Initiative’s research farm management committee. He replaces Ramona Blyth of MacGregor who had been filling a double role as president of the board and chair of the research committee. She remains president of the volunteer association that manages the MBFI research program at three sites. The MBFI is a Brandon-based collaborative effort of Manitoba Beef Producers, Ducks Unlimited Canada, Manitoba Forage & Grassland Association and Manitoba Agriculture. Blyth and her husband Harold run Rosehill Cattle Company, a commercial cow-calf and cropping operation.

Alan Jackson, an order buyer for JGL Livestock, is the new president of the Livestock Marketers of Saskatchewan. Tyler Cronk­hite, manager and auctioneer at Cowtown Livestock Exchange in Maple Creek is vice-president. Past president Stewart Stone, COO of Heartland Livestock Services, rounds out the executive. The other board members are: Blair Brooks, Meadow Lake Livestock Sales; John Williamson, Mankota Stockman’s Weigh Co.; Pat Tellier, Saskatoon Livestock Sales; Scott Johnstone, Johnstone Auction Mart; Rhett Parks, Whitewood Livestock Sales and Roy Rutledge, Weyburn Livestock Exchange.

George Baxter of Alberta and Graham McLean of Ontario were elected to the Canadian Angus Association board of directors last month for three-year terms that become effective after the CAA annual meeting June 10 in Brandon.

Baxter and his wife Laura operate Count Ridge Red Angus near Bassano, Alta., where they run 200 purebred Red Angus cattle and 100 Red Angus-influenced commercial cattle. He replaces the retiring Doug Reid of Reid Angus at Cochrane, Alta.

McLean and his brother Murray run a small purebred herd on their cow-calf and cropping operation near Melbourne, Ont. He replaces CAA past president Tammi Ribey of Paisley where she operates a 25-year-old veterinary practice. Ribey will chair the third Canadian Beef Industry Conference when it moves to Ontario in August 2018.

Maritime director Trevor Welch, Quebec director Ryan Currie and Manitoba director Shawn Birmingham were all elected by acclamation in their respective regions.

Jeff Peters, a beef producer at Inverary, Ont., has been appointed to a panel by federal Public Safety Minster Ralph Good­ale to offer advice on the best way to re-establish penitentiary farms. Peters is one of four famers on the panel, including Diane Dowling, who operates an organic dairy and beef farm near Kingston.

About the author

Canadian Cattlemen Staff's recent articles



Stories from our other publications