Your Reading List

Canadian Cattlemen’s Association leaders elected to second term

Newsmakers from the April 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Ont. TESA winner — Chris Knight and family.
Dan Darling (l) and David Haywood-Farmer

Canadian Cattlemen’s Association president Dan Darling of Castleton, Ont., and vice-president David Haywood-Farmer of Savona, B.C., were elected to a second one-year term at the association’s annual meeting in Ottawa last month. New board members include: Grant Huffman, B.C.; Roland Cailliau, Alta.; Lynn Grant, Sask., and Victor Oulton, N.S.

Matt Bowman (l) and Joe Hill.

Matt Bowman of Thornloe has been re-elected president of the Beef Farmers of Ontario along with vice-president Joe Hill, a feedlot operator from Fergus. Joining them on the board is Craig McLaughlin from Renfrew County who replaces the retiring Gerald Rollins as one of the three cow-calf directors.

Ryan Thompson

Saskatchewan representative Ryan Thompson has been elected chair of the National Cattle Feeders’ Association, replacing Larry Schweitzer, with Alberta officer-at-large Herb Groenenboom as vice-chair. Schweitzer stays on representing Manitoba with B.C.’s August Bremer, Quebec officer-at-large Michel Daigle, and Alberta’s John Schooten and James Bekkering replacing John Lawton.

Dr. Craig Dorin

Dr. Craig Dorin, managing partner of Veterinary Agri-Health Services in Airdrie was presented with the Veterinarian of the Year award at the Alberta Veterinary Medical Association’s recent annual meeting. A past president of the Western Canadian Association of Bovine Practitioners, Dorin has served on the Cattle Industry Council of the Alberta Beef Producers, as a member of the advisory board for the Alberta Beef Chair at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine, and a director of the Canadian Association of Bovine Practitioners. He is currently an adjunct clinical instructor with the University of Calgary faculty of veterinary medicine, and a large animal veterinarian.

Dr. Blake Balog of Brooks, Alta., was named Young Veterinarian of the Year.

Chris Knight and family (see photo at top), and his brother Carl, owners of Clear Creek Farms near Highgate, are the 2017 winners of the Ontario Environmental Stewardship Award presented by Beef Farmers of Ontario. One of a diminishing number of cow-calf to finishing beef operations in this southwest corner of Chatham-Kent, the Knights run 65 Angus cows on intensively managed pastures. With support from conservation groups, the family has built a wetland complex, planted trees, fenced buffer strips on creek banks and planted tall prairie grasses to improve soil health in an area dominated by corn, soybeans and vegetables.

Virgil Lowe

The Canadian Cattlemen’s Association has hired Virgil Lowe to fill a new position as business manager of Verified Beef Production Plus program. Lowe grew up on a ranch and feedlot operation west of Nanton, Alta., and was a practicing lawyer with Dentons Canada LLP before his career path pulled him back to the beef industry. He has completed the Cattlemen’s Young Leaders program in 2012, chaired the Young Cattlemen’s Council from 2011-13, co-chaired the inaugural Canadian Beef Industry Conference last summer and is the chair of this year’s conference slated for August 15-17 in Calgary.

Aaron Brower

Aaron Brower, a rancher from Aden, Alta., returns for a fourth year as president of the Western Stock Growers’ Association, with directors-at-large James Hargrave and James Jenkins returning as first and second-vice presidents, respectively, Phil Rowland as treasurer/past president and Lindsye Dunbar as manager. The association welcomes new director Cam Clark in Zone 4. Brower was re-elected in Zone 2, Richard Williams in Zone 3, Ryan Copithorne in Zone 5 and Bill Hanson in Zone 10 along with Hargrave and Ronda Reesor as directors at large, rejoining directors Michael Munton (Zone 1), Toivo Miller (Zone 7), Joe Gardner (Zone 11) and Jenkins, Larry Delver and Neil Ward as directors at large.

Paul DeJong of Ventry Hill Farm from the Dundalk area in Grey County, Ont., is the winner of the 2017 Mapleseed Pasture Award. DeJong raises 450-cow-calf pairs and 70 stockers per year on a 450 acre farm with 100 acres in pasture, plus 30 rented acres of pasture. Pasture is the main feed source for his herd so he strip grazes the pastures to maintain forage quality. He tries to pasture at least six month of the year. A waterline was installed to provide fresh water to each paddock.

Susan Blair

Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health has appointed Susan Blair as head of animal health in Canada. Blair joined Boehringer Ingelheim Canada in 2003 and was most recently named executive director, animal health, a position she held from 2010.

Gordon Parke

Submitted by Chris Mills: It was with regret that I heard of the death of Gordon Parke. He was one of the last of that generation of forward-thinking cattle producers who fought so hard to develop effective organizations to represent beef cattle producers. Back in the late ’60s, Parke, along with Gerard Guichon and other B.C. ranchers, worked to establish the first provincial checkoff in Canada. The example set by B.C. was instrumental in getting other provinces to follow suit. As a member of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association board and ultimately as president, Parke was a major force in the fields of federal farm policy and trade issues. He was particularly interested in building relationships with beef producers in other countries and represented Canada at the first international gathering of beef producers held in Bermuda in the early ’70s. There is no doubt those early relationships, especially in the U.S., helped in resolving the many trade battles that have afflicted our industry over the last 50 years.

About the author



Stories from our other publications