Grant named ‘Celebrating Women in Agriculture’ honouree

NewsMakers from the January 2020 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Sherri Grant.

BMO and Canadian Western Agribition have named Sherri Grant as the BMO Celebrating Women in Agriculture honouree. Grant and her husband ranch near Val Marie, Sask. Grant has written a children’s book titled Where Beef Comes From, developed an educational website ( and leads the beef component of Agribition’s ag education program. Grant also raises awareness around grasslands preservation and species at risk.

Lexi Wright. photo: Supplied

Lexi Wright is the new member service team leader at the Canadian Angus Association. Wright previously worked at Alta Genetics and Canadian Genetics, and also owned Cowsmopolitan Dairy Magazine for 15 years.

Colt Kornfeld of Cowtrax Cattle Co. was honoured with the Junior Angus Stockman of the Year award at Canadian Western Agribition. Kornfeld was extremely grateful to be nominated by the Windy Willows crew: Collin, Michelle and Hillary Sauder.

Krister Carlberg. photo: Supplied

Krister Carlberg of Stehag, Sweden, was presented with the Canadian Here­ford Ambassador Award at the 2019 Canadian Western Agribition. Carlberg has been key to the importation of Canadian cattle and embryos into Scandinavia since 1990.

The Canadian Centre for Food Integrity has appointed five new people to its board. They include: James Donaldson, B.C. Food and Beverage; Mike Dungate, former executive director of Chicken Farmers of Canada; Darlene McBain, Farm Credit Canada; Shanna Munro, Restaurants Canada; and Janet Riley, Maple Leaf Foods.

Marie-Claude Bibeau has been reappointed as the federal agriculture minister. Bibeau, the MP for Compton-Stanstead, in Quebec’s Eastern Townships, was first appointed as federal ag minister in April 2019.

Alistair MacGregor has also resumed his role as the NDP ag critic following the election, and also added rural economic development to his portfolio. MacGregor represents the B.C. riding of Cowichan-Malahat-Langford.

John Barlow, who represents the Foothills, Alberta riding, has taken on the role of agriculture critic for the Conservatives. Barlow previously served as the shadow minister for employment, workforce development and labour.

The Agricultural Producers Association of Saskatchewan’s board of directors has re-elected Todd Lewis, RM of Lajord #128, as president. Ian Boxall of Tisdale and Bill Prybylski of Willowbrook were re-elected as vice-presidents. New directors include Wanda Reid, Terry Anthony, Devin Harlick, Bill Prybylski, Donavon Block and Jeremy Welter.

McDonald’s Canada has named Stephen Hughes from Chinook Ranch in Longview, Alta., as its first Canadian representative for the McDonald’s Flagship Farmer program. The program is part of McDonald’s commitment to support and promote sustainable agricultural practices. Hughes was selected for his long-term commitment to innovative ranching practices, including year-round, rotational grazing techniques. For more on the program, visit

Miles Crandall. photo: Supplied

After 15 years with Boehringer-Ingelheim Animal Health, Miles Crandall took on a new role as auditor oversight and training co-ordinator with the newly formed VBP+ Delivery Services Inc. Crandall assumed his new role January 1, 2020.

Congratulations to Deer Creek Livestock, which received the 2020 ABP Environmental Stewardship Award. Deer Creek Livestock is owned by a shareholder group that includes James Bekkering, Jeff Smith, Richard Visser, Gateway Livestock and the Turner family, and is managed by Hugh Vandersteen. The ranch was formerly owned by the Gilchrist family and is located in southeastern Alberta.

The Alberta Beef Producers welcomed its new board during the organization’s AGM in December. Kelly Smith-Fraser (Pine Lake) is the new chair, Melanie Wowk (Beauvallon) the vice-chair and Brad Osadczuk (Jenner) is the finance chair. Charlie Christi (Trochu) will serve one year as past chair. The board also includes: Fred Lozeman (Claresholm), Mike Nadeau (Beaverlodge), Colin Campbell (Bon Accord), Emil Dmytriw (Innisfree), Brodie Haugan (Orion), Jason Hale (Bassano), Jim Bowhay (Sundre), Shawn Freimark (Castor), Darren Bevans (Raymond), Chris Israelson (Didsbury), Assar Grinde (Bluffton), Cathy Sharp (Lacombe) and Kolton Kasur (Bashaw).

The current Alberta Beef Producers board. photo: Supplied

About the author

Canadian Cattlemen Staff's recent articles



Stories from our other publications