GFM Network News

Wildfires claim life of young cattleman

NewsMakers from the November 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Wildfires that swept through Alberta and into Saskatchewan last month claimed one of the young leaders of Alberta’s cattle industry when James Hargrave, 34, of Walsh, Alta., died in a vehicle crash while fighting a fire along the Alberta/Saskatchewan border. Hargrave was a vice-president of the Western Stock Growers’ Association and former delegate of the […] Read more

Brian Good (l) of the Canadian Angus Association presents the award to Jordan and Megan Kolk.

Kolk Farms named Western Feedlot of the Year

NewsMakers from the October 23, 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Dr. Joyce Van Donkersgoed of Coaldale, Alta., has been named the 2017 recipient of the Metacam 20 Bovine Welfare Award for her leadership in the Canadian beef industry to improve the welfare of feedlot animals. The award is presented annually by the Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV)) in partnership with Boehringer Ingelheim (Canada). She […] Read more

New applicants for Beef Researcher Mentorship program introduced

NewsMakers from the October 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

The Beef Cattle Research Council (BCRC) has introduced its three successful applicants for the 2017-18 Beef Researcher Mentorship program. Each has been paired with leaders in the Canadian beef industry and given a travel budget to enable them to become more familiar with Canada’s commercial beef industry. Dr. Mika Asai Coakwell is the new assistant […] Read more

David Francis Farm wins CCA Environmental Stewardship Award

NewsMakers from the September 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

David and Vicki Francis and their son Bret of David Francis Farm of Lady Fane, P.E.I. are the 2017 winners of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association Environmental Stewardship Award. The family has invested heavily in soil conservation on its potato and beef operation building grassed waterways, buffer zones, terraces and berms to reduce erosion. Their rotational […] Read more

Janice and Trevor Tapp of Fraser Lake, B.C. are winners of the Ranch Sustainability Award.

Sask­atchewan Environmen­tal Stewardship Award recipients named

NewsMakers from the August 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Mark and Laura Hoimyr, their children, Anna and Jeremy, and Mark’s parents, Lyle and Judy Hoimyr, of Box H Land and Livestock near Gladmar, Sask., are this year’s recipients of the Saskatchewan Environmental Stewardship Award. The family has installed extensive cross-fencing and 13 miles of shallow water pipeline to improve grazing distribution, litter cover and […] Read more

Canada Beef welcomes a new executive vice-president

NewsMakers from the June 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Francis Andres is the new executive vice-president of Canada Beef. Working with the board of directors he will lead all aspects of the organization’s domestic and international market development and promotion efforts and as the senior officer will essentially replace former president Rob Meijer who resigned unexpectedly last September. Andres’ background is in global branding […] Read more

New president for Canadian Meat Council, new inductees for Sask. Agricultural Hall of Fame

NewsMakers from the May 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Chris White is the new president and CEO of the Canadian Meat Council. He comes to the council with 20 years experience in government and industry relations as chief of staff for five federal cabinet ministers and vice-president of government relations in the finance, insurance, and auto sectors. The Canadian Meat Council represents 400 federally […] Read more

Ont. TESA winner — Chris Knight and family.

Canadian Cattlemen’s Association leaders elected to second term

Newsmakers from the April 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Canadian Cattlemen’s Association president Dan Darling of Castleton, Ont., and vice-president David Haywood-Farmer of Savona, B.C., were elected to a second one-year term at the association’s annual meeting in Ottawa last month. New board members include: Grant Huffman, B.C.; Roland Cailliau, Alta.; Lynn Grant, Sask., and Victor Oulton, N.S. Matt Bowman of Thornloe has been re-elected president of […] Read more

Ben Fox is the new president of the Manitoba Beef Producers.

Manitoba Beef Producers elects a new president

Newsmakers from the March 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Ben Fox of Dauphin is the new president of the Manitoba Beef Producers. Joining him on the executive are first vice-president Ramona Blyth from MacGregor, second vice-president Tom Teichroeb of Langruth and treasurer Peter Penner from Winkler. Dianne Riding of Lake Francis replaces Fox as board secretary.     Ryan Beierbach of Whitewood returns as […] Read more

Canadian Beef Centre of Excellence director to retire

Newsmakers from the February 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Marty Carpenter, the director of the Canadian Beef Centre of Excellence at Canada Beef in Calgary is set to retire March 1. He received his Certified Chefs de Cuisine designation in 1991 but for the past 23 years his career has focused totally on marketing Canadian beef with the Alberta Beef Producers, the Beef Information […] Read more