Your Reading List

Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame inductees in 2017

Newsmakers from the December 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Cattlemen Tim Oleksyn and George Cooper, and grain producer Art Mainil will be inducted into the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame in 2017.

Tim Oleksyn
Tim Oleksyn photo: Supplied

Tim Oleksyn, a rancher and farmer from Shellbrook, has been a supporter of beef research for decades. He has been a board member and chair of the Western Beef Development Centre and the Beef Cattle Research Council and served on the board of the Sask­atchewan Agriculture Development Fund, Prairie Agricultural Machinery Institute and the new Livestock and Forage Centre of Excellence (LFCE). He is currently on the fundraising committee to secure the remaining funds needed to make the LFCE a reality.

George Cooper
George Cooper photo: Supplied

George Cooper of West Bend served on the boards of the Canadian Shorthorn Association, Saskatchewan Livestock Association and Canadian Western Agribition and was president of the Regina Bull Sale. He passed away in August 2016.

Art Mainil was a founding member of the Palliser Wheat Growers Association and founding president of the Weyburn Inland Terminal, the first farmer-owned grain terminal in Canada where he promoted protein grading for wheat, grain cleaning on the Prairies and the loading of 100-car unit trains. He passed away in November 2011.

The induction ceremony will take place on April 22, 2017, in Saskatoon.

Doug Wray
Doug Wray photo: Supplied

Irricana, Alta. rancher Doug Wray is the recipient of the Canadian Forage & Grassland Association’s 2016 Leadership Award sponsored by New Holland. Wray is a past chairman of the CFGA and director of the Alberta Forage Industry Network.

Stacey Domolewski became the science and extension co-ordinator for the Beef Cattle Research Council in November. She is currently completing a master’s of science at the University of Saskatchewan College of Agriculture and Bioresources and is a past graduate of the Cattlemen’s Young Leaders program. Her family ranches in southern Alberta. With Domolewski’s appointment the former extension co-ordinator Tracey Herbert is promoted to extension and communications director.

Jess Verstappen
Jess Verstappen photo: Supplied

Congratulations to Lakeland College student Jess Verstappen for winning the Canadian National 4-H and Youth Judging Competition held at Canadian Western Agribition.

Brad Dubeau
Brad Dubeau photo: Supplied

Brad Dubeau has resigned as director of communications for the Canadian Hereford Association to become the marketing and education manager with Alberta Beef Producers, effective December 12.

Emily Ritchie
Emily Ritchie photo: Supplied

Emily Ritchie is the new youth leadership co-ordinator for the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association. She has a diploma in agricultural technology from Lethbridge College and is involved with her family’s commercial cow-calf and horse breeding operation near Turner Valley, Alta. In her new position, she will be the manager of the Cattlemen’s Young Leaders program and the Young Cattlemen’s Council.

Laura Gadowsky
Laura Gadowsky photo: Supplied

Laura Gadowsky of Edmon­ton has been named the deputy president for the Royal Agricultural Society of the Commonwealth (RASC). After serving as the chair of the board of the directors for Northlands from April 2013 to April 2015, Gadowsky began a two-year term with the RASC n November at the Commonwealth Agricultural Conference in Singapore.

Dr. Stephen Miller is the newly named director of genetic research for the American Angus Association and Angus Genetics Inc. (AGI). Miller, who received his doctorate and undergraduate degree from the University of Guelph, was most recently a principal scientist with AgResearch Ltd., in New Zealand. His career also includes stints as chair of bovine genetics at the University of Alberta and CEO of the Alberta Bovine Genomics Program, and director of the centre for animal science at the Queensland Alliance for Agriculture and Food Innovation in Australia.

The Cattlemen’s Young Leaders program has announced its 2016-17 list of industry mentors who have volunteered to share their experience with this year’s class of young leaders (in brackets). They are: producer Graeme Finn, Madden, Alta. (Mel Hermanson, Hussar, Alta.); Marty Seymour, Regina (Roxanne Olynyk, Regina); producer Ryan Copithorne, Jumping Pound, Alta. (Madelaine Knodel, Seven Persons, Alta.); Ryder Lee, Regina (Jessica Sperber, Rimbey, Alta.); Dr. Tom Smylie, Johnstown, Ont. (Becky Tees, Cochrane, Alta.); producer Ryan Kasko, Lethbridge, Alta. (Jesse Williams, Hanna, Alta.); Carol Kitchen, Calgary (Kristy-Layne Carr, La Broquerie, Man.); Brenna Grant, Calgary (Mona Howe, Empress, Alta.); producer Leighton Kolk, Iron Springs, Alta. (Luke Marshall, Innisfail, Alta.); John Sullivan, Dunlap, Iowa (Katie Songer, Sylvan Lake, Alta.); producer Darren Bevans, Raymond, Alta. (Kylie McRae, Forget, Sask.); Deborah Wilson, Edmonton (Grayden Kay, Lloydminster, Alta.); Matthew Heleniak, Norwich, Ont. (Jason Hurst, Guelph, Ont.); Tim Hardman, Washington, D.C. (Nicole Viste, Hanna, Alta.).

Canadian Western Agribition (CWA) has announced the 2016 recipients of its $2,500 scholarships given to students with a history of involvement in CWA. They are: Cassandra Gorrill, Lindsay, Ont., in fourth year at the University of Guelph, majoring in animal science; Morgan Heidecker, Middle Lake, Sask., pursuing a bachelor of science in agribusiness at the University of Saskatchewan; Emma Nicholas, Milestone, Sask., a Grade 12 student who plans to attend the University of Saskatchewan College of Agriculture; Megan McLeod, Cochrane, Alta., pursuing a bachelor of commerce degree at the University of Saskatchewan.

Kathryn Serhienko of Maymont, Sask., won the $1,500 Barry Andrew Family Scholarship to pursue studies in agriculture, while Tyrell Hicks of Parkbeg, Sask., won the $1,500 William M. Farley Memorial Scholarship for students who contribute to the show as volunteers.

About the author



Stories from our other publications