TESA award for environmental stew­ard­ship awarded

Newsmakers from the August 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Miles Anderson
Miles Anderson photo: Supplied

Miles Anderson walked away from the Sask­atchewan Stock Growers annual convention with two mem­­­­or­able souvenirs, the provincial environmental stew­ard­ship award (TESA) won by him and his wife Sheri and an autographed copy of Dr. Temple Grandin’s book, Humane Animal Handling, auctioned off during the annual fundraiser. The TESA award recognizes the efforts Miles and Sheri and their family put into managing their native Fir Mountain, Sask., pastures to create a beneficial habitat for their cattle and the Greater sage-grouse that coexist on their place. More details are available in our August issue of Canadian Cattlemen.

Chris Lane is the new CEO of Canadian Western Agribition. The former senior producer at the CBC grew up with an agricultural background in northern Alberta and has over a decade of experience leading teams and organizations.

The Canadian Angus Association honoured Korova Feeders, Doug and Helga Price of Acme, Alta., with its Western Feedlot of the Year Award during the Carcass 101 workshop held in Olds. Korova Feeders has a 30,000-head capacity in two feedlots. The Prices also operate Echo Sand Ranching, a cow-calf operation that runs 4,000 Angus and Angus influence cows in Alberta and Sask­atch­ewan and currently have 8,000 yearlings on grass in Saskatchewan.

Shane Jahnke
Shane Jahnke photo: Supplied

Shane Jahnke was elected Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association president at the association’s summer annual convention in Regina. He comes into this role with seven years experience on the board, two as first vice-chair, and is joined on the executive by outgoing president Doug Gillespie of Neville, first vice-chair Bill Huber of Lipton, second vice-chair Kelcy Elford of Caronport and finance chair Jeff Yorga of Flintoft.

Two men well recognized in cattle circles, Bob Switzer and John Willmott, will join the prestigious Canadian Agricultural Hall of Fame November 6 in a ceremony at the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair in Toronto.

Bob Switzer of Sandy Bar Ranch in Aneroid, Sask., was instrumental in introducing the Certified Angus Beef brand to the cattle industry, the Canadian hotel and restaurant trade, and ultimately consumers. He was also involved in the creation of Red Coat Cattle Feeders, a community-based feedlot. Switzer is a distinguished Angus breeder, promoter, mentor and judge, and continues to advocate for the cattle industry within Saskatchewan and across Canada.

John Willmott of Pense, Sask., has served as the president of Canadian Western Agribition and Canada’s Farm Progress Show. He’s an international cattle judge, an Angus breeder and past president of the Canadian Angus Association. He also helped create the first regulations affecting artificial insemination and a standard Record of Performance (ROP) program for the Canadian beef industry.

Brian McKersie
Brian McKersie photo: Supplied

Brian McKersie of Canal Flats was elected president of the British Columbia Cattlemen’s Association by his fellow directors following the association’s annual meeting in Penticton. He replaces Larry Fossum of Dawson Creek who remains on the executive as past president. Larry Garrett of Vanderhoof is vice-president.

Ian McKillop
Ian McKillop photo: Supplied

Ian McKillop, a former president of the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association (now Beef Farmers of Ontario) is the new chair of Farm & Food Care Canada. He served on the board of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association, and chaired the National Farm Care Council’s beef cattle Codes of Practice committee.

Brian Coughlin
Brian Coughlin photo: Supplied

Brian Coughlin of Cobden, Ont., has been re-elected president of the Canadian Charolais Association. Andre Steppler of Miami, Man., is first vice-president, and Darwin Rosso of Moose Jaw, Sask., is second vice-president. Brent Sanders of Markdale, Ont., is past president.

Graeme Hedley, the former general manager of the Beef Farmers of Ontario has stepped down as president of the Canadian Beef Grading Agency. He has been replaced by Willie Van Solkema, a long-time veteran of the packing industry.

About the author



Stories from our other publications