GFM Network News

Forage and Grassland Association presents award for leadership

NewsMakers from the December 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Bill Thomas, the recently retired director of the field services at Perennia Food and Agriculture Inc. in Nova Scotia, is the 2017 recipient of the Canadian Forage and Grassland Association Leadership Award. During his 30 years of extension service he implemented educational forage production programs at the former Nova Scotia Agricultural College, now part of […] Read more

Wildfires claim life of young cattleman

NewsMakers from the November 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Wildfires that swept through Alberta and into Saskatchewan last month claimed one of the young leaders of Alberta’s cattle industry when James Hargrave, 34, of Walsh, Alta., died in a vehicle crash while fighting a fire along the Alberta/Saskatchewan border. Hargrave was a vice-president of the Western Stock Growers’ Association and former delegate of the […] Read more

New applicants for Beef Researcher Mentorship program introduced

NewsMakers from the October 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

The Beef Cattle Research Council (BCRC) has introduced its three successful applicants for the 2017-18 Beef Researcher Mentorship program. Each has been paired with leaders in the Canadian beef industry and given a travel budget to enable them to become more familiar with Canada’s commercial beef industry. Dr. Mika Asai Coakwell is the new assistant […] Read more

David Francis Farm wins CCA Environmental Stewardship Award

NewsMakers from the September 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

David and Vicki Francis and their son Bret of David Francis Farm of Lady Fane, P.E.I. are the 2017 winners of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association Environmental Stewardship Award. The family has invested heavily in soil conservation on its potato and beef operation building grassed waterways, buffer zones, terraces and berms to reduce erosion. Their rotational […] Read more

Canada Beef welcomes a new executive vice-president

NewsMakers from the June 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Francis Andres is the new executive vice-president of Canada Beef. Working with the board of directors he will lead all aspects of the organization’s domestic and international market development and promotion efforts and as the senior officer will essentially replace former president Rob Meijer who resigned unexpectedly last September. Andres’ background is in global branding […] Read more

New president for Canadian Meat Council, new inductees for Sask. Agricultural Hall of Fame

NewsMakers from the May 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Chris White is the new president and CEO of the Canadian Meat Council. He comes to the council with 20 years experience in government and industry relations as chief of staff for five federal cabinet ministers and vice-president of government relations in the finance, insurance, and auto sectors. The Canadian Meat Council represents 400 federally […] Read more

Ont. TESA winner — Chris Knight and family.

Canadian Cattlemen’s Association leaders elected to second term

Newsmakers from the April 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Canadian Cattlemen’s Association president Dan Darling of Castleton, Ont., and vice-president David Haywood-Farmer of Savona, B.C., were elected to a second one-year term at the association’s annual meeting in Ottawa last month. New board members include: Grant Huffman, B.C.; Roland Cailliau, Alta.; Lynn Grant, Sask., and Victor Oulton, N.S. Matt Bowman of Thornloe has been re-elected president of […] Read more

Canadian Beef Centre of Excellence director to retire

Newsmakers from the February 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Marty Carpenter, the director of the Canadian Beef Centre of Excellence at Canada Beef in Calgary is set to retire March 1. He received his Certified Chefs de Cuisine designation in 1991 but for the past 23 years his career has focused totally on marketing Canadian beef with the Alberta Beef Producers, the Beef Information […] Read more

Turner Ranch of Pritchard, B.C. was officially named a Century Farm in December.

B.C. ranch officially named a Century Farm

Newsmakers from the January 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Nanton rancher/feeder Bob Lowe was re-elected to a second term as chair of the Alberta Beef Producers at the association’s annual meeting in Calgary last month. Rejoining him on the executive is vice-chair Roland Cailliau of Valleyview. New to executive is finance chair Kelly Smith-Fraser of Red Deer County. Mayerthorpe, Alta. rancher Tom Thompson of […] Read more

Cattle community members inducted into Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame

Newsmakers from the November 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Three well-known members of the cattle community were inducted into the Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame last month. They are: Cor Van Raay of Iron Springs helped mould Alberta’s modern feedlot sector. Starting with just 50 head of cattle, his business grew to be one of the largest feedlot operations in Canada. He also helped […] Read more