Your Reading List

Newsmakers – for Aug. 15, 2011

Robert Meijer, the former director of Corporate Affairs for Cargill Limited, was named president of Canada Beef Inc., the new marketing arm of the Canadian cattle industry on August 1. Canada Beef was formed from the merger of the Beef Information Centre and Canada Beef Export Federation.

Five vice-presidents were named: Cam Daniels,global relations;Herb McLane,international;John Baker, North America;Ron Glaser,corporate services and communications and Michael Shittu,finance.Brad Wildeman of Saskatchewan chairs the board;Dane Guignionof Manitoba is vice-chair.

Judy Guichonof Quilchena has been re-elected to a second one-year term as president of the British Columbia Cattle Producers’ Association. Joining her on the executive are vice-president David Haywood-Farmerand directorsMark Grafton, Martin Rossmann, Linda Allison, Ron Buchanan andLarry Garrett.Newly elected directors includeJohn Anderson,replacing Mike Rosefrom the Nicola Stock Breeders,Peter PhilipreplacesRalph Michellfrom the Kamloops Stockmen, andJohn KochelreplacesRoland Baumannfrom the Nechako Valley Regional Cattlemen.

Harold Martens, a cow-calf producer from Swift Current, was elected president of the Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association (SSGA) at the group’s annual meeting in June.Doug Gillespieof Neville is first vice-president backed up by second vice-president Shane Jahnkeof Gouldtown.Calvin Knossof Rockglen moves to past president. New to the board table areRobin Wigginsof Fox Valley, andGerry Duckworth of Courval, joiningJahnke, Martens andRoy Rutledgeof Assiniboia, who were returned for two-year terms. Directors-at large serving the second year of their terms areRyan Beierbach of Whitewood,Helen Finucaneof Regina,Heather S. Beierbachof Maple Creek, andPaul Jeffersonof Humboldt.

Dr. Cheryl Waldner,a professor at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine, was presented with the Intervet Schering-Plough Award for achievement in large animal medicine at the Canadian Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) annual meeting. Waldner, a veterinary epidemiologist, is widely recognized for her work on the impact of the oil and gas industry on cattle health and productivity, trace mineral nutrition, and the epidemiology of many infectious diseases. Currently, she and her colleagues are working on a new diagnostic test for Vibriosis.

The CVMA’s Humane Award was presented toDr. Terry Whiting,the manager of animal health and welfare at Manitoba Agriculture and the President’s Award went toDr. Tim Ogilvie, the immediate past dean of the Atlantic Veterinary College.

Dr. Lloyd Keddie,a mixed-practitioner from Fairview, Alta., was elected as president of the CVMA for 2011-2012.

Wayne Digbywill be stepping down as executive director of the Manitoba Forage Council on September 1 to concentrate his efforts on his other position as executive director of the Canadian Forage and Grassland Association.

Cam Dahlis the new general manager of the Manitoba Beef Producers. He is a past commissioner of the Canadian Grain Commission, chairman of the board of directors of the Canadian International Grains Institute, executive director of the Grain Growers of Canada and spent several years working on Parliament Hill. Most recently he was working with Pronto Energy Group, a company that converts waste to energy. Dahl is originally from a mixed farm near Swan River. He holds both Bachelor and Masters degrees, focusing on agricultural economics, from the University of Manitoba.

Craig Douglasis the new policy analyst of the Saskatchewan Cattlemen’s Association. He has nearly three decades of experience in the industry working with the Canadian Wheat Board, the Keystone Agricultural Producers in Manitoba and the Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association.

Dr. Alastair Cribb has accepted another five-year term as dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Calgary. He is the founding dean of the vet school which now has 50 faculty members and this fall 120 students entering its first-year class. The first graduating class is entering its fourth year rotations this fall.

A past president of the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association,Gerhard Schickedanz passed away in Markham June 24 after a short bout with cancer. He is survived by his wife of 58 years,Elma. After immigrating to Canada from Germany in 1951 Gerard and his brothers started their building and development business in Toronto with later branches in Calgary and Florida. He bought his farm near Markham in 1960 and continued to farm for the remainder of his life. In addition to his time with the OCA he was involved with the Ontario Federation of Agriculture the American Trakehner Association, a North American horse breeding organization.

Kori Maki-Adairis the new manager of communications for the Canadian Cattle Identification Agency. She has a background in online communications and experience in government, media and community relations.

Heini Hehli,a Rimby-area dairy producer, has been elected chair of Alberta Farm Animal Care (AFAC). Veterinarian and cattle producer Larry Delver representing the Western Stock Growers Association was elected vice-chairman. Alberta Beef Producers representative Brian Chomlakis treasurer, and cow-calf producerDoug Sawyermoves into the past chairman role on the executive.

Jim Armstronghas retired after 35 years with the Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture He spent three years in Yorkton as ag. rep. with the Saskatchewan Indian Agriculture Program, 23 years as livestock specialist in Tisdale, nine years as manager of livestock and forage specialists, finishing up as manager of the northern regional office. Tisdale livestock specialist

Tracy Evansreplaces him as northern regional manager.

Brennin Jackof Heartland Livestock in Regina was crowned 2011 Champion Canadian Livestock Auctioneer during the Canadian Livestock Markets Association annual meeting in Kitchiner, Ont., in June. Runner up wasTravis Rogersof the Nilsson Brothers market in Clyde, Alta.

Meanwhile,Rod Burnettof Armstrong, B. won the 23rd annual International Livestock Auctioneer Championship at the Calgary Stampede in July, gaining the $5,000 prize and a berth in the 2012 World Livestock Auctioneer Championship at Hilmar, Calif.

Dr. David Chalack is to be inducted into the Canadian Agriculture Hall of Fame. A veterinarian, he is the current chairman of the Alberta Livestock and Meat Agency and past president of the Calgary Stampede. He is also a partner in Rocky Mountain Holsteins Inc, a director of Alta Genetics Inc. in Balzac and past director of the Canadian Livestock Genetic Exporters Association.

ProducersDavid Kerrof Lashburn andKelly Williamsonof Pambrun along withDr. Fran Walleyof the Department of Soil Science at the University of Saskatchewan were recently appointed to the board of directors of the Saskatchewan Forage Council. Re-elected to the board were forage researcherDr. Bruce Coulmanand producerLeam Craigof Biggar, Sask.

The Southwest Forage Co-operative Association was presented with the council’s 2011 Forage Industry Innovation Award its summer annual meeting.

The Livestock Gentec Alberta Innovates Centre at the University of Alberta has appointedDr. Graham Plastow as its interim chief executive officer, replacingDr. Stephen Moorewho has accepted a position at the University of Queensland in Australia. The centre has also hiredDr. John Basarab, Dr. Leluo GuanandTom Lynch-Staunton.



Stories from our other publications