Your Reading List

Newsmakers – for Mar. 8, 2010

Jack Hextall of Grenfell was officially elected to a one-year term as chairman of the Saskatchewan Cattlemen’s Association (SCA) at their inaugural annual meeting in Saskatoon in January. He was serving as the interim chairman coming into the meeting. The remaining members of the executive are vice-chairman Ryan Thompson of Ceylon, finance chairman Bill Jameson of Moose Jaw, past chairman Bob Ivey of Ituna, and executive director-at-large Brad Welter of Viscount.

The Saskatchewan Livestock Association presented honour scrolls to four well-known Saskatchewan families at its January annual meeting. Shorthorn breeder Craig Andrew was a founding member and manager of the Saskatchewan Beef Cattle Performance Association. Neil and Marilyn Jahnke have both

taken turns as president of the Saskatchewan Livestock Association and the Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association. Neil was a director and president of the Canadian Cattleman’s Association. Wayne and Dorothy Johnstone owned Johnstone Auction Mart in Moose Jaw for many years and continue to be involved in farming and in the auction mart with the help of their son, Scott. Larry and Dawne Toner are involved in 4-H, Canadian Western Agribition and the Angus breed. Larry participated in three World Angus Forums.

Duane Thompson of Tee Two Cattle Co. at Kelliher, Sask., is the 2010 recipient of the producer extension award presented by the Saskatchewan Beef and Forage Symposium committee. Duane and his wife Paula run 350 cows and a small feedlot in partnership with his parents, David and Carol.

Rancher Murray McGillivray of Radville is the first recipient of the Saskatchewan Beef Industry Hall of Fame Award introduced by the Saskatchewan Cattle Feeders Association and Pound-Maker Agventures at the Saskatchewan Beef Industry Conference in January. It recognizes individuals who have dedicated their life to promoting and building the beef industry.

Charlie and Kim Sytsma are the 2010 winners of the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association Environmental Stewardship Award. The couple run 220 Red Angus cow-calf pairs on the home farm and leased properties near Athens, Ont. They have improved the remote leased pastures through intensive rotational grazing and restored 1.5 kilometres of riparian shoreline on the property by the use of exclusion fencing and solar waterers to keep the cattle away from the creek that runs through the property.

Ryan Nesbitt of Nestleton is the winner of the 2010 Ontario Pasture Award presented by the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association, MAPLESEED and the Ontario Forage Council. Ryan, Trevor and Scott Nesbitt operate the 1,500-acre Cedardale Farms but Ryan takes the lead role in the pasture operation. He rotationally grazes 150 cow-calf pairs and about 20 bred heifers on 280 acres divided into paddocks about 10 acres in size. Water is piped to each paddock through an aboveground water line. He received a $750 cash award and a bag of forage seed.

Lorna Baird of Calgary is the new executive director of the Alberta Farm Animal Care Association replacing Susan Church who retired late last year. Baird was raised in Winnipeg and received a BSc. in Agriculture from the University of Manitoba, an MSc. in Agricultural Sciences (animal welfare program) from the University of British Columbia and is in the process of completing her PhD in Animal Science from Queen’s University in Belfast.

The new executive of the Livestock Marketers of Saskatchewan are president Jeff Jameson, JGL Livestock; first vice-president Rhett Parks, Whitewood Livestock Sales; second vice-president Bob Blacklock, Saskatoon Livestock Sales and past president Wayne Bowyer, Cowtown Livestock Exchange.



Stories from our other publications