Your Reading List

McAllister receives Beef Industry Award for Outstanding Research and Innovation

Newsmakers from the September 2016 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Dr. Tim McAllister
Dr. Tim McAllister photo: Supplied

Dr. Tim McAllister, principal research scientist with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in Lethbridge, received the 2016 Canadian Beef Industry Award for Outstanding Research and Innovation at the inaugural Canadian Beef Industry Conference last month. He also holds adjunct appointments at six universities in Canada, and universities in China and Ghana. His research interests include the safe composting of specified risk materials, antibiotic-resistant bacteria in cattle, optimizing the nutrition of beef cattle, and the impact of cattle on the environment.

Dr. Paul Jefferson
Dr. Paul Jefferson photo: Supplied

Dr. Paul Jefferson of Hum­boldt has received the Saskatchewan Forage­ Council’s 2016 Forage­ Industry Innovation Award­ for his significant contributions to the forage and livestock industries. He has published more than 75 research papers during his 26 years as a research scientist with AAFC at Swift Current and as vice-president of operations with the Western Beef Development Centre.

Linda Allison
Linda Allison photo: Supplied

Linda Allison of Princeton, B.C., is the new chair of the Canadian Beef Cat­tle Research, Market Development and Promotion Agency, which oversees the national checkoff and Canada Beef. She replaces Jack Hextall of Saskatchwan. Heinz Reimer of Manitoba is vice-chair, and Lonnie Lake, Sysco Canada, finance chair. Committee chairs are: Larry Weatherby, Nova Scotia, governance; Mike Kennedy, Cargill, market development and promotion; Doug Sawyer, Alberta, beef cattle checkoff.

The 2016 Cattlemen’s Young Leaders mentorship recipients are: British Columbia: Ryan Scorgie, Kamloops. Alberta: Becky Tees, Cochrane; Grayden Kay, Lloydminster; Jessica Sperber, Rimbey; Jesse Williams, Hanna; Katie Songer, Sylvan Lake; Luke Marshall, Innisfail; Madeleine Knodel, Seven Persons; Mel Hermanson, Hussar; Nicole Viste, Hanna. Saskatch­ewan: Kylie McRae, Kisbey; Mona Howe, Leader; Roxanne Olynyk, Regina. Manitoba: Kristy-Layne Carr, Marchand; Wilco van Meijl, Brandon; and Ontario: Jason Hurst, Guelph.

Brad Welter
Brad Welter photo: Supplied

Brad Welter is the new president of Pound-Maker Agventures Ltd. and Pound-Maker Capital Corp. of Lanigan, Sask., replacing the retiring Brad Wildeman. Welter has been with the company for 14 years. Kim Riel is chief financial officer, and Keith Rueve is the director of ethanol production, safety and environmental compliance. Wildeman will serve as a part-time adviser.

Marianne Possberg
Marianne Possberg photo: Supplied

Marianne Possberg is the new beef production specialist with the Sask­atch­ewan Cattlemen’s Asso­ciation. She has a master’s in agricultural economics from the University of Sask­atchewan.

Clinton Monchuk is leaving his post as CEO of Chicken Farmers of Saskatchewan to become the executive director of Food & Farm Care Saskatchewan. He replaces Adele Buettner of AgriBiz Communications Corp.

Barry Andrew and Dr. Byrnne Rothwell were inducted into the Saskatchewan Agricultural Hall of Fame last month. Andrew, a grain and cattle producer from Foxleigh, was a founding member and director of Canadian Western Agribition and served as its president in 1980 and 1981, and president of both the Saskatchewan and Canadian Shorthorn Associations. He passed away in December 2012. Rothwell was a veterinarian in Mission, B.C., Wakaw, Sask., and his own clinic in Shellbrook. In 1986-87 he joined Ag Canada as an animal health, meat hygiene and food inspector. He died in 2014.

Doug Mann of Swift Current, Sask., is the president-elect of the Canadian Hereford Association. Albert Rimke, Oak Lake, Man., is vice-president-elect and Nels Nixdorff of Airdrie, Alta., remains as pedigree chairman. The executive team will assume their new roles on January 1, 2017.
Kristine Tapley is the new beef production specialist with Ducks Unlimited Canada.

Shirley Bilton
Shirley Bilton photo: Supplied

Shirley Bilton of West Wind Blondes at Stavely, Alta., passed away in Clares­holm on June 27. A life­long cattleman, he received a Lifetime Achieve­ment Award from the Canadian Blonde d’Aquitaine Association in 2015 and was instrumental in achieving the first “homozygous polled” full blood Blonde d’Aquitane animal recognized in the breed in the world.

Saskatchewan rancher Les Miller, who worked for the PFRA riding the community pasture at Antelope Park from 1954 until about 1965 and then the Heart’s Hill pasture from the early 1980s to 2002 until he retired at the age of 70, passed away June 16 in Airdrie, Alta., at the age of 84.

About the author



Stories from our other publications