Cattlemen’s Young Leaders and Outstanding Young Farmers

NewsMakers from the April 2020 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

The Hagan family (l. to r.): Erin, Alistair, Slade and Harley-Mae, Shawne and Jocelyn, Thomas, Rory and Felicity accepting the National Blue- winged Teal Award.

Cattlemen’s Young Leaders

Cody Adams. photo: Supplied

Cody Adams’ family owns and operates 6A Cattle Co. a cattle feeding operation near Picture Butte, Alta. The feed yard is primarily a finishing lot but they background calves for customers as well. The family also runs 130 cow-calf pairs. Adams earned a diploma in animal science from Lethbridge College. Since graduating, he’s developed his own operation, Bar A Cattle Co., consisting of Red and Black Angus. Adams plans to focus on management, finance, marketing, government policies, and accounting procedures during his mentorship. His mentor is Carrie Cholak, who has extensive experience in the farm finance world and served as the general manager of the Saskatchewan Stockgrowers Association through BSE.

Ethan David. photo: Supplied

Ethan David was raised on a mixed farm and ranch operation in southwest Saskatchewan near Eastend. He attended the University of Saskatchewan, where he studied agronomy and animal science. David has returned home after his education to the farm where he works alongside his family. He is also working towards developing his own ag consultation company. David’s mentor is Brad Osadczuk, a third-generation rancher from Jenner, Alta., who is involved with several community and beef industry boards, including the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association.

Rob Lipsett of Grey County is the new president of Beef Farmers of Ontario. Lipsett takes over from Joe Hill. Jack Chaffe of Mitchell is the new vice-president. Cow-calf directors include Jason Reid, Don Hargrave and Don Badour. Feedlot directors include Joe Dickenson and David Millsap. Jason Leblond is the northern director, Craig McLaughlin the eastern director and Ron Stevenson the southern director. Jordan Miller and Dan Darling are the directors-at-large.

Dianne Riding of Lake Francis is the new president at the Manitoba Beef Producers. Riding takes the reins from Tom Teichroeb of Langruth. Tyler Fulton of Birtle is first VP and Mike Duguid of Camp Morton is second VP. Peter Penner serves as treasurer and Nancy Howatt as secretary. Directors include Gord Adams, Kevin Duddridge, Steven Manns, Melissa Atchison, Matthew Atkinson, Robert Metner, Mark Good, Mary Paziuk and Jim Buchanan.

Bob Lowe. photo: CCA

At the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association AGM in March, Bob Lowe (Alta.) and Reg Schellenburg (Sask.) were elected president and vice-president, respectively. Lowe takes over from David Haywood-Farmer (B.C.) who moves to the position of CCA past president and will chair CCA’s public and stakeholder engagement efforts. The CCA also welcomed the following new board members: Ryan Scorgie (B.C.), Jodi Flaig (Alta.), Sheila Hillmer (Alta.), Tyler Fulton (Man.), Matt Bowman (Ont.), and Jack Chaffe (Ont.).

The Young Cattlemen’s Council participated in their third annual lobby day at Parliament Hill on March 10. The “fly-in” was held in conjunction with the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association AGM with YCC delegates Kayla Weston (Alta.), Holly Thompson (Sask.), Evan Chaffe (Ont.) and Geoffrey Larkin (N.S.).

The Manitoba Beef Producers have named Thomas and Felicity Hagan to The Environmental Stewardship Award for the province this year (see photo at top). The Hagans hail from Oak Lake, where they raise cattle and direct market beef to consumers under their own brand, Naturally Manitoba. The couple focuses their conservation efforts around grazing, and the Manitoba Co-operator notes they hope to eventually graze nine months a year. They have moved from rotational grazing to more intensive grazing, moving cattle up to four times a day last fall. They have benchmarked their soil by testing some of their poorest land, and plan to re-test it every five years to track progress. The Hagans say they have seen better root and forage growth, plus improved water infiltration, since adapting their grazing practices. The Hagan family was featured in the December 2017 issue of Canadian Cattlemen, when they won the National Blue-winged Teal Award.

Outstanding Young Farmers

Philip and Katie Keddy. photo: OYF

Philip and Katie Keddy took home the Atlantic Outstanding Young Farmers award for 2020 earlier this year. The couple hails from Lakeville, N.S., where they are partners in Charles Keddy Farms Ltd. The farming operation includes 55 beef cattle, along with nursery stock strawberry plants, sweet potatoes and other crops. They have partnered with researchers across North America and have recently built the first machine in Canada that will use UV sterilization as a pest management strategy in berries, notes an OYF release.

Andre and Katie Steppler. photo: OYF

Andre and Katie Steppler were named Manitoba’s Outstanding Young Farmers for 2020 last month. The couple, along with Andre’s parents and three brothers, operate Steppler Farmers, a multi-faceted operation near Miami, Man. The farm comprises 4,000 acres of grain land, 2,500 honey beehives, plus a cattle division which includes 600 purebred Charolais and 100 Black Angus. Andre and Katie manage the cattle division, marketing their genetics through two annual sales on the farm.

About the author



Stories from our other publications