New Cattlemen’s Young Leaders, CCA welcomes new board members

NewsMakers from the May 2021 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Cattlemen’s Young Leaders 

Katie-Jo Stehr. photo: Supplied

Katie-Jo Stehr was raised on a mixed operation near Swan River, Man. Her involvement in 4-H encouraged her interest in the beef industry. In 2016, she graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a bachelor of science in agriculture with great distinction, and started working as a ruminant nutritionist with Gowans Feed Consulting in Lethbridge. Stehr also went on to earn a graduate degree in animal science. Her trials focused on chemically treating barley straw to improve forage quality, and feeding the treated product in wheat-based finishing rations. Stehr also owns a small cow-calf herd alongside her parents, and plans to grow her herd when possible. Stehr’s mentor is Sheila Hillmer, key account manager with Elanco and a farmer and rancher from Del Bonita, Alta. Hillmer’s board experience includes time as a delegate with the Alberta Beef Producers and as a board member with the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association. 

Kaylee Chizawsky. photo: Supplied

Kaylee Chizawsky grew up on a cattle operation near Vegreville, Alta. During her elementary school years, she spent many mornings bottle-feeding twins before running to the bus, often smelling of milk replacer. Chizawsky graduated from the University of Alberta in 2018 with an agriculture degree, majoring in animal science. She began her career as a summer student with Alberta Innovates and Monsanto as a field research technician, and today she works at University of Alberta’s dairy research unit. Chizawsky remains involved with the family farm, having purchased her own bred heifers last year. Her mentor is John Lawton, who with his wife Stacey oversees cattle feeding and trading operations in Alberta and Saskatchewan. Lawton also served on the Alberta Cattle Feeders Association board for several years. 

Congratulations to the recipients of the Alberta Farm Animal Care Awards of Distinction. They include Lee Smith of Consort, who received an innovation award for his Water Box invention. The Water Box is an insert used on a frozen water source, alleviating the need to chop holes daily. Kendra Donnelly received a leadership award. Donnelly owns a large cattle feeding business in Acme and High River, is involved in her family’s grocery business, is on the Alberta Cattle Feeders executive and is a member of Alberta’s Economic Recovery Council. The Wasylik family, who operate Chatsworth Farm of Vermilion, were the communications award recipients. The Wasyliks not only use social media to connect with the public and provide factual information about farming, but have also created both virtual and in-person on-farm tours. 

Congratulations to recipients of the Alberta Veterinary Medical Association Awards from this winter: Dr. Nick Nation (Meritorious Service), Dr. Leight Coma (Veterinarian of the Year), Jessica Benoit, RVT (Veterinary Technologist of the Year); Dr. Jessica Law (Young Veterinarian of the Year), Dr. Kathleen Keil (Communications Award), Dr. Craig Hellquist (Outstanding Mentor-Individual) and Central Veterinary Clinic (Outstanding Mentor-Practice). 

Tamara Carter. photo: Supplied

Tamara Carter recently stepped into the role of director of prairie grasslands conservation at Nature Conservancy Canada, where she will co-ordinate a new grasslands stewardship initiative funded by a significant grant of $25 million, by the Weston Family Foundation. The grant will help support ranchers in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba by funding projects that enhance biodiversity, improve wildlife habitat, support species at risk and improve grassland management. Carter farms and ranches in southwest Saskatchewan. She is also the president of the Saskatchewan Forage Council and sits on the strategic advisory board at the Livestock and Forage Centre of Excellence in Clavet, Sask. 

Congratulations as well to the Alberta Veterinary Technologist Association Awards: Dr. Lisa Lomsnes and Dr. Colleen Pratt (Meritorious Service); Sydney Frost, RVT (Lucille Landals Emerging Leader Award); Fiona Kowalczyk, RVT and Kate Simon, RVT (Appreciation Award). 

The Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA) welcomed newly elected board members during its virtual AGM in March. They include: Linda Allison (B.C.), George L’Heureux (Alta.), Kelly Smith-Fraser (Alta.) and Matthew Atkinson (Man.). The board also re-elected Bob Lowe (Alta.) and Reg Schellenberg (Sask.) as president and vice-president, respectively. The board also thanked the following retiring directors and members for their time and contributions: Grant Huffman (B.C.), Jodi Flaig (Alta.), Stuart Somerville (Alta.) and Gord Adams (Man.).

Congratulations to Christine Fulkerth, who received the Alberta Forage Industry Network (AFIN) Leadership Award this spring. Fulkerth is a plant science instructor at Olds College, past chair of AFIN and has worked on several research projects over the years. She is well-respected by AFIN for her leadership style, and is highly esteemed by her students, many of whom she has mentored over the years. 

The Alberta Beef Producers recently welcomed Lindsay Westren and Debra Murphy to the marketing and communications team. 

Westren is the new marketing and communications manager. She has seven years of experience in agri-marketing, and is an experienced brand developer. She also holds a communications degree from Mount Royal University. 

Murphy steps into the role of editorial content specialist. She has several years of experience in ag news media, creating engaging editorial for ag audiences. Murphy also has an ag degree from the University of Alberta and ranches alongside her family in central Alberta.

About the author



Stories from our other publications