Your Reading List

Newsmakers – for Mar. 14, 2011

Cor Van Raay of Iron Springs received an honorary life membership in the Alberta Cattle Feeders Association at the group’s annual meeting last month in Red Deer. Under his direction Cor Van Raay Farms became an integrated farming operation encompassing five feedlots with a 100,000-head one-time capacity and more than 100 quarters of mostly irrigated land. Three of his six children now own the family farm. Rather than retire Cor has been buying land in Saskatchewan.

Phil Rowland,a cow-calf operator, backgrounder and grain farmer, from High River, Alta., was elected president of the Western Stock Growers’ Association at the annual meeting during the Alberta Beef Industry Conference in February.

Bill Jamesonof Moose Jaw, Sask. was appointed to a second one-year term as chairman of the National Cattle Feeders Association during the group’s annual general meeting at Red Deer in February. Also reappointed was vice-chairmanLarry Schweitzer of Brandon, Man. Also on the board are past chairmanRick Paskalof Iron Springs, Alta.,Doug Kaufmanof Woodstock, Ont.,Bill Fredingof Oliver, B.C.,Marie-Claude Mainvilleof Farnham, Que.,Herb Groenenboom of Kipp, Alta.,Glen Thompsonof Iron Springs, Alta., andJeff Warrackof Strathmore, Alta.

Beef Improvement Opportunities (BIO) posthumously honouredRon Wooddisseof Palmerston, Ont., with its BIO Mark of Excellence Award last month. The award is given to producers who make significant contributions to the beef industry while improving their herd through the use of performance records. Wooddisse is a past president of the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association and the Canadian Simmental Association and was on the board of BIO.

BIO also announced the sale of its Agri-Food Laboratories to an international firm.

Curtis Royalof Simcoe County was re-elected president of the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association at its annual meeting in late February along with vice-president Dan Darling, a cow-calf operator from Northumberland County. Reelected to the board areGerald Rollins representing cow-calf producers, eastern Ontario repRick Hobbsof Ottawa County and backgrounderBill Herron,a Grey County farmer. A new board member,Joe Hillof Wellington County replacesDoug Kaufmanas feedlot representative.

James McKinlayof Silver Springs Farms is the winner of the 2011 Ontario Pasture Award. He and his wifeJoancarry 150 cow-calf pairs and 80 replacement heifers on 400 acres of pasture and 500 acres of cash crop near Ravenna in Grey County. The Ontario Forage Council, Mapleseed and the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association sponsor the award.

Dr. Joyce Van Donkersgoedof Coaldale, Alta., was presented with the 2011 Boehringer Ingelheim Western Canadian Association of Bovine Practitioners (WCABP) Veterinarian Of The Year Award last month at the group’s annual meeting. A graduate of the Western College of Veterinary Medicine she has held research and/or epidemiology positions at WCVM, Veterinary Infectious Disease Organization and Animal Disease Research Institute and served as a consultant to the industry’s Quality Starts Here program. She is currently a feedlot practitioner in Picture Butte.

JohnandRosemary Dunsmoreof Shanty Bay were presented with the Ontario Environmental Stewardship Award for 2011 at the Ontario Cattlemen’s Association annual meeting in Toronto last month. The couple was cited for its active involvement in a county butternut tree recovery program, their use of solar and wind turbine power to decrease their ecological footprint and their longtime use of a catchment pond to capture and filter run-off that would otherwise end up in Lake Simcoe.



Stories from our other publications