Your Reading List

Wasko elected chair of Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Beef

NewsMakers from the October 22, 2018 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Anne Wasko. photo: Supplied

Anne Wasko, well known market analyst with Gateway Livestock who ranches with her husband Barry at Eastend, Sask., has been elected chair of the industry-weighted council of the Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Beef for 2018-19. She replaces rancher Cherie Copithorne-Barnes who chaired the council through its early growing pains over the past four years. Anne and Barry run a VBP+ registered commercial cow-calf operation and have been involved in both the McDonald’s Verified Sustainable Beef Pilot and the Canadian Beef Sustainability Acceleration Pilot. She also sits on the Saskatchewan Agriculture Development Fund Advisory committee.

Nancy Noecker. photo: Supplied

Long-time Ontario beef specialist Nancy Noecker has retired. At the time of her retirement, she was serving as the calf and heifer specialist in Kempt­ville, Ont., a position she has held since 1989. Raised near Moorefield in Wellington County and a Guelph graduate, she started her career in public service as a red meat adviser based in Sudbury covering Muskoka, Parry Sound, Algoma, and Manitoulin, as well. After a short stay in Lindsay she settled in the Kemptville field office. Noecker took on important files during her career with OMAFRA, including red meat program initiatives, projects relating to transportation and animal health and welfare, effective animal handling and multiple other extension activities.

Jill Harvie. photo: Supplied

Jill Harvie is the new manager of public and stakeholder engagement at the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association. In this new position she will work with staff to help manage the industry’s response to a variety of issues ranging from primary production to consumer perceptions. Harvie ranches with her husband, and in previous roles with the CCA has worked on the development of the Cattlemen’s Young Leader’s program and the sustainable framework for beef production.

Harvie replaces Tom Lynch-Staunton who was splitting his time as issues manager for the CCA with his other job as government relations and policy manager for the Alberta Beef Producers (ABP). He has now returned to the ABP where he works full time explaining the position of Alberta producers on the same issues facing the industry to government and industry officials, and the public.

Ryan Konynenbelt. photo: Supplied

Congratulations go out to Ryan Konynenbelt of the Southern Alberta Livestock Exchange for winning the Champion’s buckle at the International Livestock Auctioneer competition during the Calgary Stampede, outscoring 36 contenders from as far away as Australia and South Africa. Next stop is the World Auctioneer Championship next June in Visalia, California.

The Canadian Angus Association recently announced that it would not be renewing the contract of CEO Rob Smith, who has been leading the breed association since 2011. He will stay on until December 31, 2018 with his replacement slated to start in the new year.

Janice Tranberg becomes the interim president and CEO of the Alberta Cattle Feeders’ Association (ACFA) and National Cattle Feeders’ Association (NCFA) on November 1, and will replace current president/CEO Bryan Walton, when he retires early in 2019. She has served as executive director for the Saskatchewan Canola Development Commission (SaskCanola); assistant deputy minister for the Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture; vice-president, Western Canada for CropLife Canada; and holds a BSA and MS in molecular biology and plant pathology from the University of Saskatchewan.

Kris Ringwall is the new director of the University of Saskatchewan’s $38 million dollar Livestock and Forage Centre of Excellence, composed of two new research and teaching units south of Clavet and a third southeast of Saskatoon. Ringwall is well known in beef circles through his work as the director of the North Dakota State University Dickinson Research Extension.

Dr. Henry Ceelen. photo: Supplied

Dr. Henry Ceelen of Kemptville, Ont., is the recipient of the 2018 Boehringer Ingelheim Practitioner of the Year Award presented at the conference of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners (AABP) in Phoenix last month. This award is presented annually by the AABP to a veterinarian in general practice in recognition of his or her outstanding contributions to the veterinary profession, the cattle industry and bovine practice. Dr. Ceelen was raised on a dairy farm in the Ottawa Valley, graduated from the Ontario Veterinary College in 1981 then returned to practice in eastern Ontario where he has remained, currently as a partner in a multi-person mixed animal practice with clinics in Kemptville and Prescott. He is a long-time member of the Central Canada Veterinary Association, the Ontario Association of Bovine Practitioners and of the Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV) and has served as president of all three.

Dr. Todd Duffield. photo: Supplied

At the same convention, Dr. Todd Duffield was presented with the 2018 Metacam 20 Bovine Welfare Award by the Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV)/Association Canadienne des Vétérinaires Bovins (ACVB) in partnership with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health. Dr. Duffield is the chair of the department of population medicine at the University of Guelph’s Ontario Veterinary College (OVC) where he continues to offer his services as a practicing clinician to the OVC’s ruminant field service veterinary practice. He has authored or co-authored more than 160 articles in peer-reviewed journals and is a highly cited researcher in bovine care.

About the author



Stories from our other publications