New Cattlemen’s Young Leaders, ABP holds delegate elections

NewsMakers from the February 2021 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Charlene Yungblut. photo: Supplied

Charlene Yungblut was raised on a small commercial cow-calf farm in Thorold, Ont. She developed a passion for agriculture, specifically livestock, at a young age while helping on the family farm. Yungblut was also an active 4-H member in Niagara. This passion led her to pursue an agriculture diploma from Ridgetown College. Today she works for Brewster Consulting Services, an ag consulting and research company specializing in grape and tender fruit production. She’s also involved in her family’s cattle operation and is developing her own herd. Yungblut is also a co-leader of the dairy and judging clubs for 4-H and the secretary-treasurer with the Beef Farmers of Niagara. Her mentor is Matt Bowman, who runs a mixed farm with Charolais-cross cattle in the Temiskaming district of Ontario. Bowman is also a past president of Beef Farmers of Ontario and is a current board member of the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association and chair of the Beef Cattle Research Council.

Claye Harsany. photo: Supplied

Claye Harsany is a fourth-generation cattle producer from High River, Alta. Harsany developed an interest in production in the cattle industry at a young age, and went on to enroll in the department of natural resource sciences at Thompson Rivers University (TRU). He then transferred to the University of Alberta, graduating with a bachelor of science in agriculture in the spring of 2020. While at TRU, Harsany collaborated with others on UAV research, an effort that garnered first prize in the Canadian Beef Industry Conference’s student competition. He’s also been a part of other research projects, including greenhouse gas emissions projects and nutrition trials. While completing his bachelor’s degree, he started working as a cattle procurement, marketing and logistics specialist with GK Jim Farms. Harsany’s mentor is Mathieu Paré, a Red Seal chef and the executive director for the Canadian Beef Centre of Excellence. Paré has also spent time in some of Canada’s top kitchens, including as senior chef on the Royal Canadian Pacific railways.

Sydney Fortier. photo: Supplied

Sydney Fortier is the new technical advisor for the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA) as part of the public and stakeholder engagement (PSE) team. Fortier will provide the scientific background to PSE programs and campaigns by keeping up with new research relevant to the Canadian beef industry. She will also support the PSE team in issues response and collaborating with academia and researchers to build public trust. Prior to joining CCA, Fortier was completing her master’s at the University of Manitoba focused on the environmental impacts of the Canadian beef industry.



Tammy Melesko. photo: Supplied

Tammy Melesko joins Can­adian Cattlemen’s Association (CCA) as the interim communications manager. Melesko has more than a decade of experience in corporate communications in the public and private sectors. She is also a former print, TV and radio journalist. Prior to joining CCA, Melesko held a communications position at Bayer Inc. in the crop science and corporate divisions. Melesko will be at CCA until the end of 2021, covering Michelle McMullen’s maternity leave.




Megan McLeod. photo: Supplied

Megan McLeod has joined the Alberta Beef Producers as a field representative. McLeod will be connecting with producers and stakeholders at community events, auction markets and anywhere producers gather. McLeod brings marketing experience through her work at McLeod Livestock, WS and Colliers International, and also has knowledge of the entire beef supply chain. She also holds a bachelor of commerce from the University of Saskatchewan.




Kevin Virove. photo: Supplied

Kevin Virove has joined the Alberta Beef Producers as the editorial content specialist, which will entail co-ordinating information for the ABP magazine and online platform. Virove has more than 15 years of experience in broadcasting, journalism and photography, having worked with CTV Calgary, Citytv and Shaw Media. He also has family ties to Alberta’s ranching community.





The Alberta Beef Producers (ABP) held the organization’s first delegate elections under the new ABP zone structure in early January. The southeast and southwest zones held elections, and delegates in the central, northwest and northeast zones were acclaimed. Elections were held online, results determined by Election Buddy and verified by the ABP chief returning officer. ABP will select a new board at the AGM next month.

Southeast zone: Darren Bevans (Raymond), Shawn Freimark (Castor), Jason Hale (Bassano), Brodie Haugan (Orion), Kent Holowath (Rumsey), Craig Lehr (Medicine Hat) and Brad Osadczuk (Jenner).

Southwest zone: Jim Bowhay (Sundre), Graeme Finn (Madden), Sheila Hillmer (Del Bonita), Lee Irvine (Cochrane), Chris Israelson (Didsbury), Fred Lozeman (Claresholm) and Kelly Smith-Fraser (Pine Lake).

Central zone: Colin Campbell (Bon Accord), Rod Carlyon (Westlock), Martin Clausen (Westlock), Austin Dow (Onoway) and Cathy Sharp (Lacombe).

Northwest zone: Lori Kinnee (Grimshaw), Erin Moskalyk (Fairview), Gary These (Peace River) and Mike Nadeau (Beaverlodge).

Northeast zone: Emil Dmytriw (Innisfree), Shane Franklin (Bonnyville), Jay Hager (Provost), George L’Heureux (Lac La Biche), Josie Pashulka (Derwent), Joanne Solverson (Camrose) and Melanie Wowk (Beauvallon).

About the author

Canadian Cattlemen Staff's recent articles



Stories from our other publications