New president at the helm of BFO

NewsMakers from the April 2018 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Joe Hill. photo: Supplied

Joe Hill, a feedlot operator from Centre Wellington is the new president of Beef Farmers of Ontario. He has served on the BFO board for the past seven years as a feedlot director. Ron Lipsett, who runs a 150-head cow-calf herd and backgrounding operation in Grey County was elected vice-president.

New to the board are Jason Leblond and Jordon Miller. Leblond, who operates a grass-fed cow-calf operation in Powassan, replaces outgoing president Matt Bowman as northern director. Miller, whose family operates a large commercial cow-calf farm on Manitoulin Island, replaces the retiring Tim Fugard as director at large. Jason Reid of Thunder Bay was re-elected to another term as cow-calf director and Jack Chaffe of Mitchell returns as feedlot director.

Ryan Kasko. photo: Supplied

Ryan Kasko of Coaldale is the new chair of the Alberta Cattle Feeders’ Association. He replaces Martin Zuidhof of Lacombe who moves to past chair on the executive. Colleen Mackey of Picture Butte is the new vice-chair and Jacob Bueckert of Warner chairs the governance, finance, audit committee.

Bryan Walton. photo: Supplied

Alberta Cattle Feeder’s Association president and CEO Bryan Walton was presented with a Lifetime Honorary Member Award during the ACFA annual meeting in February. Walton was named CEO in 2007 and plans to retire soon.

Larry Weatherby who operates a cow-calf and backgrounding operation outside of Truro, is the new chair of the Nova Scotia Cattle Producers Association. Victor Outon of Martock was elected vice-chair and remains as the NSCP rep on the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association board of directors. Dean Manning of Falmouth is secretary treasurer.

Sandra Vos. photo: Supplied

The Beef Farmers of Ontario have selected Sandra Vos, owner of a grass-fed beef operation in Paris, Ontario, as the 2018 winner of the provincial Environmental Stewardship Award in recognition of her efforts to reclaim 80 acres of bare land with some cattle and a well-maintained rotational grazing system. The cattle are moved regularly to maximize the potential of her limited land base while allowing adequate recovery time for each section of pasture. Above-ground water lines allow her to supply the cattle and fence off the creek to preserve the waterway. Bush is also fenced off to provide a safe space for deer and birds, while downed trees and scrub are piled in some of the pastures to serve as both a habitat for wildlife and a natural scratching post for the cattle.

Tim Lehrbass. photo: Supplied

Tim Lehrbass of Alvinston, Ont., is the 2018 winner of the Mapleseed Pasture Award. For his environmental improvements and exceptional pasture management, he received a cash reward of $500 and a bag of forage seed courtesy of Mapleseed. More details on his operation are found on page 18.

Graeme Finn. photo: Supplied

Graeme Finn of Crossfield, Alta., was awarded the Alberta Forage Industry Network (AFIN) 2018 Leadership Award last month at the group’s annual meeting in Leduc. The Leadership Award recognizes individuals showing leadership in the areas of research, extension or promotion of the economic and environmental benefits of native rangeland, seeded pasture or hayland in the province of Alberta. That certainly sums up Finn who is a rancher, grazing consultant, mentor to farm youth and new researchers, and serves as president of Union Forage and Southern Cross Livestock.

Darren Chapman has been elected chair of the Manitoba Forage and Grassland Association, replacing Dave Koslowsky of Killarney who remains on the executive as past chair. Larry Wegner of Virden was elected as vice-chair and finance chair Ryan Boyd retains his position for another term.

The cattle community in Alberta was saddened by the passing of two well-known veterinarians in the past couple months.

Dr. Brian Edge. photo: Supplied

Dr. Brian Edge practiced large animal medicine in Calgary, Cochrane and Crossfield, and was a founding member of the first commercial bovine embryo transplantation practice, the Calgary Transplant Centre. He served as a veterinarian at the Calgary Stampede for 47 years and the Calgary Bull Sale for 45 years, was a director of the Alberta Beef Producers, Calgary Feeder Assoc. and Western Stock Growers’ Association, and ranched near Cochrane.

Dr. Terry Church. photo: Supplied

Dr. Terry Church died in late February in Port Moody, B.C. After a decade of large animal practice in southern Alberta Church became an assistant professor at the Western College of Veterinary Medicine and then worked for Alberta Agriculture for 21 years. He worked on the formation of Alberta Farm Animal Care and enforcement of the Animal Protection Act. Following retirement he managed a bison, elk and cattle ranch near Calgary.

Alberta Farm Animal Care has presented its annual Award of Distinction for Industry Leadership to Lakeland College to mark the school’s commitment to animal welfare. Instructors Jessica Hryciuk and Marisa Schuebel were on hand to accept the award. Students in the animal science technology program complete an entire semester of animal handling, welfare and ethics during their first year of studies.

About the author



Stories from our other publications