Manitoba Beef elects its new president, Orr appointed new general manager of Manitoba Beef and Forage Initiatives

NewsMakers from the October 2018 issue of Canadian Cattlemen

Tom Teichroeb. photo: File/Supplied

Tom Teichroeb was elected president of the Manitoba Beef Producers during a special meeting of the board of directors in late August necessitated by the resignation of president Ben Fox to campaign for the Conservative nomination in the federal riding of Dauphin-Swan River-Neepawa. Teichroeb had been vice-president and was serving as interim president up until the board meeting. Teichroeb remains the representative of District 8, and Fox will continue to serve on the board as District 13 director.

In other moves District 1 rep. Gord Adams was elected vice-president and District 12 director Kris Kristjanson is second vice-president.

Mary Jane Orr. photo: File/Supplied

Mary-Jane Orr has been appointed general manager of the Manitoba Beef and Forage Initiatives (MBFI) which now operates three research and demonstration sites near Brandon at Brookdale Farm, First Street Pasture and Johnson Farm, as well as the new MBFI Learning Centre. MBFI is a partnership between Manitoba Agriculture, Manitoba Beef Producers, Ducks Unlimited Canada and the Manitoba Forage and Grassland Association. Originally from Carberry, Man., Orr gained a PhD in soil microbiology from Purdue University before returning to Manitoba where she worked as a nutrient management specialist with Hylife Ltd., and on the development of an on-farm research and learning hub with David Rourke of Minto, Man.

September was a busy month at Lakeland College in Vermilion, Alta. On September 7 the college opened its new $8.2 million animal health clinic. The 14,531-sq.-ft. facility replaces the college’s small animal clinic built in the 1960s and provides a new home to the 11 animal health technology (AHT) and 26 veterinary medical assistant (VMA) students enrolled this term. In addition to increased lab spaces, separate animal wards, a modern surgical suite, dental lab and separate pharmacy, the clinic is equipped with realistic equine models, a direct digital radiography x-ray system and bovine ultrasound machine with BCF universal goggles.

Earlier in the month Judy Sweet had made another donation to the college, this time for $500,000 to go toward the future purchase of land to house its growing livestock population which now includes an 80-head research herd, 290-head dairy herd, 90-head commercial beef herd and a 40-head purebred beef herd. This gift builds on the Sweet family’s support of the modernization and expansion of the G.N. Sweet Livestock Research Facility, which officially opened on Oct. 20, 2016.

James Benkie. photo: File/Supplied

James Benkie is the new dean of program development and agricultural technology at Olds College in Olds. Alta. Benkie held senior roles with Fujitsu Canada, Benville Grain Group and Agriculture Financial Services Corporation prior to joining the Olds College team.

Lorraine Beaudette. photo: File/Supplied

Lorraine Beaudette is the new executive director of the Saskatchewan Forage Council. Council president Tamara Carter says Beaudette has been working closely with departing executive director Leanna Rousell to ensure a smooth transition. Beaudette brings over 20 years experience with producer-led organizations in the organic sector, as well as the Canadian Wheat Board, Saskatchewan Canola Growers Association and the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool to her new position. Her family involvement in the Sask­atchewan horse industry has also given her an appreciation for the challenges and opportunities in pasture and hay management. The council’s office moves to her home near Vanscoy, Sask. Contact details are available on the website at

Livestock producers in Alberta have until October 31 to make their views known about livestock welfare within the province through a public survey. The survey forms part of the Alberta Livestock Welfare Engagement Project funded by Alberta Agriculture and Forestry. Alberta Farm Animal Care executive director, Annemarie Pedersen says industry feedback is needed to accurately represent the extensive work being done related to livestock care in Alberta today. Survey results will be combined with the results from five focus groups conducted around the province to form a final report that will be shared with the Alberta government early in 2019. The online survey is available at

The 16 finalists selected for the 2018-19 Cattlemen’s Young Leaders program are:

  • British Columbia: Bree Patterson
  • Alberta: Jessica Giles, Melissa Downing, Travis Page, Melissa Van Sickle, Megan Clifton, Allana Minchau, Max Allingham, Annessa Good
  • Saskatchewan: Dean Sentes, Jacqueline Toews, Leonard Retzlaff
  • Manitoba: Raina Syrnyk, Jordan Dahmer, Tyler Fewings
  • New Brunswick: Amy Higgins.

The Canadian Agri-Food Policy Institute (CAPI) has launched a redesigned website at CAPI is an industry-driven, non-profit organization that provides a place where agri-food leaders can collectively advance ideas on emerging issues of interest to the entire industry.

Cheron Chamberlain. photo: File/Supplied

Cheron Chamberlain is the new representative for Boviglo, a liquid vitamin and mineral supplement for cattle. Her territory includes Alberta, British Columbia and Montana. The product is distributed by Nature’s Wave, a Canadian company.

About the author

Canadian Cattlemen Staff's recent articles



Stories from our other publications